Alternatives

Descript alternatives for how-to videos

Descript is an all-purpose AI video and podcast editor built around the transcript: edit the words, and the video follows. People look for a Descript alternative for software tutorials specifically, where the zooms and cuts should come from click events rather than from what was said, and where the deliverable is a written step-by-step guide as much as the video.

Prefer the row-by-row version? stepvideo vs Descript.

Before the list

First: should you actually leave Descript?

Descript is an all-purpose AI video and podcast editor. There are jobs it does better than anything below, and if you recognise yourself on the left, the cheapest alternative is the one you already have.

Stay with Descript if…

  • You also make podcasts, interviews or YouTube — Descript is built for all of it and stepvideo is built for one thing.
  • Transcript-based editing genuinely is the better interface for talking-head content.
  • You want a bigger free tier and a $16–24/month entry point.
  • You need 4K export; stepvideo renders 1080p.
  • You want studio-grade audio tools, multitrack and green screen.

Look for an alternative if…

  • Every video you make is a software walkthrough, and you want the zooms and cuts decided from click events rather than from a transcript.
  • You need a written step-by-step guide out of the recording — Descript's pricing page doesn't list one.
  • You'd rather buy rendered video minutes than manage media hours and AI credits.

The list

8 Descript alternatives for how-to videos

Coming from Descript, you're used to editing words and letting the picture follow. Read each card for what the edit is driven by instead — clicks, steps, screenshots — and for whether it does anything at all with a podcast or a talking-head, because most tools here don't. Descript's free tier and 4K export are also real; look for both on the price lines.

Ours first — it's our site — then the rest, closest to Descript first. Every other card quotes that company's own pricing or product page as of 15 August 2026, and links to the row-by-row comparison it was written from.

01 · this site

stepvideo

stepvideo is an auto-editing how-to video tool for browser workflows.

Entry price
Yes. Creator $29/mo — 25 AI video minutes, no watermark, 3 seats
Free tier
Yes. Yes — a 10-day free trial with 5 AI minutes, no card, watermarked exports
How you capture
Yes. Chrome extension — records the tab you pick
AI voiceover written per step
Yes. Yes — a script per step, each one editable and re-voiced on its own
Word-by-word captions burned into the MP4
Yes. Yes — word-synced, burned in at render

02

Guidde

Guidde is an AI how-to video and documentation platform.

Entry price
Yes. Pro $19 a creator a month billed annually, matching Creator's figure when billed monthly; Business $39 annually or $59 monthly
Free tier
Yes. Yes — up to 25 how-to videos
How you capture
Yes. Chrome extension, plus a desktop app on Business
AI voiceover written per step
Yes. Record your own voiceover on every plan; AI text-to-voice and Magic Mic from Business
Word-by-word captions burned into the MP4
Partly, or on a higher plan. Auto captions on all tiers; the MP4 download can burn them in from Pro; word-by-word is not stated
Listed here, not on Descript's page
automatic zoom on the control you clicked · A written guide from the same take · edit steps, not a timeline · interactive click-through demos · +1 more

Compared with Descript as an alternative; cells read from Guidde's own pages on 15 August 2026.

03

Camtasia

Camtasia is a desktop screen recorder and video editor.

Entry price
Yes. Billed yearly: Starter $39, Essentials $179.88, Create $249, Pro $599 a year
Free tier
Yes. The full editor downloads free; exports carry a watermark until you buy a plan
How you capture
Yes. Desktop application; a separate free "Camtasia Online" recorder
AI voiceover written per step
Yes. Yes — "lifelike AI-generated voice over narration"
Word-by-word captions burned into the MP4
Yes. Yes — captions, plus AI translation to 7 languages and 9 dialects
Listed here, not on Descript's page
automatic zoom on the control you clicked · A written guide from the same take

Compared with Descript as an alternative; cells read from Camtasia's own pages on 15 August 2026.

04

Loom

Loom is an async video messaging tool.

Entry price
Yes. Business $18 and Business + AI $24 per user a month billed monthly; their page says annual saves up to 17%
Free tier
Yes. Yes — Starter, 25 videos, 5-minute recording cap
How you capture
Yes. Chrome extension and desktop app
AI voiceover written per step
Partly, or on a higher plan. A beta text-to-speech patches words back into your own recording; per-step narration is not listed
Word-by-word captions burned into the MP4
Partly, or on a higher plan. A closed-caption toggle in their player on every plan, with SRT download from Business
Listed here, not on Descript's page
cut a mistake while you're still recording · A written guide from the same take · edit steps, not a timeline

Compared with Descript as an alternative; cells read from Loom's own pages on 15 August 2026.

05

Navattic

Navattic is an interactive product demo platform.

Entry price
Yes. Base $500/mo and Growth $1,000/mo billed annually ($600 / $1,200 billed monthly), read 2 October 2026; Starter free, Startup and Enterprise on request
Free tier
Yes. Yes — Starter is free for everyone: 1 seat, 1 demo
How you capture
Yes. Chrome extension capturing HTML, screenshots or video, plus Mac and Windows apps
AI voiceover written per step
Yes. AI voiceovers listed from Base on the pricing page; the docs put narrated demos at Growth or higher
Word-by-word captions burned into the MP4
Partly, or on a higher plan. An opt-in caption overlay follows the narration on narrated demos; burned-in MP4 captions not listed
Listed here, not on Descript's page
automatic zoom on the control you clicked · A written guide from the same take · edit steps, not a timeline · interactive click-through demos

Compared with Descript as an alternative; cells read from Navattic's own pages on 15 August 2026.

06

Scribe

Scribe is a step-by-step documentation tool.

Entry price
Yes. Pro Team $17 a seat monthly ($13 yearly), five-seat minimum; Pro Personal $35 monthly ($25 yearly)
Free tier
Yes. Yes — Basic, free
How you capture
Yes. Chrome extension, plus a desktop app on paid plans
AI voiceover written per step
Yes. Movie view plays a guide as video with an AI voiceover and a selectable voice, across all plans
Word-by-word captions burned into the MP4
Partly, or on a higher plan. A captions toggle in the Movie player on every plan; burned-in MP4 captions are not listed
Listed here, not on Descript's page
automatic zoom on the control you clicked · cut a mistake while you're still recording · A written guide from the same take · edit steps, not a timeline · +1 more

Compared with Descript as an alternative; cells read from Scribe's own pages on 15 August 2026.

07

Trupeer

Trupeer is an AI demo video and documentation platform.

Entry price
Yes. Pro $49 a month billed monthly, $40 billed yearly (2,000 credits, about 20 AI video minutes); Scale $249 monthly, $199 yearly
Free tier
Partly, or on a higher plan. A free plan labelled for 10 days: 1,000 AI credits, about ten AI video minutes, 5-minute recordings, watermarked
How you capture
Yes. Chrome extension and video upload
AI voiceover written per step
Yes. Yes — AI video generation across all plans
Word-by-word captions burned into the MP4
Partly, or on a higher plan. Captions in videos listed from Pro
Listed here, not on Descript's page
automatic zoom on the control you clicked · A written guide from the same take · edit steps, not a timeline

Compared with Descript as an alternative; cells read from Trupeer's own pages on 15 August 2026.

08

Supademo

Supademo is an interactive product demo tool.

Entry price
Yes. Scale $50/creator/mo ($38 annual) · Growth $450/mo ($350 annual)
Free tier
Yes. Yes — 5 demos, 1 creator
How you capture
Yes. Chrome extension across all plans, plus Mac and Windows desktop apps on paid tiers
AI voiceover written per step
Yes. Per-step AI voiceover generated from the step text on Scale and above; voice cloning on Growth
Word-by-word captions burned into the MP4
Partly, or on a higher plan. A closed-caption toggle synced to the voiceover on Scale or higher; burned-in word-by-word is not stated
Listed here, not on Descript's page
automatic zoom on the control you clicked · A written guide from the same take · edit steps, not a timeline · interactive click-through demos

Compared with Descript as an alternative; cells read from Supademo's own pages on 15 August 2026.

A price or feature here out of date? Tell us and we'll re-check the source and fix the row.

If you switch to stepvideo

Leaving Descript: what you keep, what you gain, what you give up

The comparison table's rows, regrouped. Each group is read from Descript's own pages on 15 August 2026 and from what stepvideo ships — and “doesn't list” means exactly that, not “can't”: the rows Descript's page actually rules out get their own group.

Both Descript and stepvideo list it

7 rows

  • Dead time removed without editing
  • AI voiceover written per step
  • Word-by-word captions burned into the MP4
  • A share page per render
  • Languages
  • Brand kit and branded share pages
  • Free tier

stepvideo has it; Descript's page doesn't list it

4 rows

  • Automatic zoom on the control you clicked
  • Cut a mistake while you're still recording
  • A written guide from the same take
  • The editing rules published in public

stepvideo has it; Descript's page says it doesn't

1 row

  • Edit steps, not a timeline

Descript lists it; stepvideo doesn't have it

2 rows

  • Desktop app for non-browser software
  • AI avatars / talking heads

Questions

Leaving Descript, answered plainly

I edit by transcript in Descript. What replaces that in stepvideo?

The step list. A software walkthrough comes out as numbered steps, each with its own narration script, and editing means renaming, reordering, merging or deleting a step, rewriting its script and re-voicing it on its own. There is no transcript-driven cut and no timeline — the zooms and cuts are decided from your click events before you see the video, and you override the zoom per step if you disagree.

Can stepvideo edit my podcast or my talking-head videos?

No. It records a Chrome tab through the extension, or takes an uploaded screen recording, and everything it does downstream — zooms on clicks, cuts on dead time, the written guide — assumes a software workflow. If you make podcasts, interviews or YouTube as well as tutorials, Descript covers all of it and stepvideo covers one thing.

Descript has a free tier and 4K export. Why pay for stepvideo?

Only if the tutorials are the job. stepvideo renders 1080p, has a 10-day free trial with 5 AI minutes, no card (watermarked), and Creator costs $29 a month for 25 rendered minutes. What that buys, and Descript's pricing page doesn't list, is an edit that knows you clicked a button: zooms placed on it, steps split at it, and a written guide written from it. Need 4K or a bigger free plan? Descript, and we'd rather say so.

Questions about Descript itself — what its page lists, what it costs, where it wins — are answered on the row-by-row comparison. stepvideo vs Descript: FAQ
Every price and feature on this page was read from each company's public pages on or after 15 August 2026.