Checked 15 August 2026
stepvideo vs Scribe
Scribe is very good at one thing: click through a process and get back a clean, screenshotted, written guide. stepvideo produces that guide too — and the edited video to go with it, from the same single pass.
No credit card needed — 5 AI video minutes, free for 10 days.
Already decided to leave? Scribe alternatives, the whole shortlist on one page.
Before the table: when Scribe is the right call
Scribe is a step-by-step documentation tool. There are jobs it does better than we do, and this is the list. If you recognise yourself on the right, we'd rather you went and used it than churned in month two.
Pick stepvideo when…
- Your audience won't read the doc. A narrated video with zooms on each control gets watched when a wall of screenshots gets skimmed.
- You want both artefacts from one recording, kept in sync when the product changes.
- You need narration and captions, not just captions on stills.
The claims on our side are all specified. Read the edit rules
Pick Scribe when…
- A written guide really is all you need, and you want the cheapest, fastest path to it.
- You document desktop software. Scribe's paid plans include a desktop capture app; stepvideo is Chrome-only.
- Your team wants a large shared library of text SOPs more than it wants video.
- Scribe's Pro Team seat is $17/month — cheaper per person than stepvideo for text-first documentation at scale.
Written from Scribe's own public pages, not from a review site.
stepvideo and Scribe, row by row
Every Scribe cell below says what Scribe's own public pages said on 2 October 2026. Where their page doesn't mention something we've written “not listed” rather than guessing — a missing mention isn't a missing feature.
| Feature | This page | ScribeTheir own pages |
|---|---|---|
| Automatic zoom on the control you clickedThe recording knows where the click landed, so the camera punches in on the button rather than showing the whole screen. | Yes. Yes — up to 1.8×, anchored to the click, 600ms in and 2.4s hold | Partly, or on a higher plan. Movie view has zoom transitions and a zoom setting; anchoring to the clicked control is not stated |
| Dead time removed without editingPage loads, spinners and thinking pauses are what make a raw recording unwatchable. | Yes. Yes — anything over 4s plays at 3×, over 30s at 8× | Not listed. Not listed on Scribe's pricing page |
| Cut a mistake while you're still recordingFlub a step, hit a key, keep going — no second take of the whole workflow. | Yes. Yes — the hotkey removes the last 8s (beta) | Yes. Delete a step mid-capture from their extension sidebar, at every tier; no undo |
| AI voiceover written per stepNarration that follows the steps, and that you can rewrite one step at a time. | Yes. Yes — a script per step, each one editable and re-voiced on its own | Yes. Movie view plays a guide as video with an AI voiceover and a selectable voice, across all plans |
| Word-by-word captions burned into the MP4Captions that survive being posted anywhere, without a sidecar file. | Yes. Yes — word-synced, burned in at render | Partly, or on a higher plan. A captions toggle in the Movie player on every plan; burned-in MP4 captions are not listed |
| A written guide from the same takeThe same recording as a numbered walkthrough, so you don't write the doc twice. | Yes. Yes — numbered steps, each with its own screenshot from the recording | Yes. Yes — this is Scribe's core output, on all tiers including free |
| Edit steps, not a timelineRename, reorder, merge, delete or rewrite — no scrubbing, no keyframes. | Yes. Yes — the video is a step list | Yes. Edit text and combine, copy or delete steps at every tier; screenshot cropping and annotation on Pro |
| A share page per renderSomewhere to send the link that isn't a file attachment. | Yes. Yes — public or unlisted by link | Yes. Yes — shareable guide links |
| LanguagesBoth halves matter: the language you speak while recording, and the language the finished video ships in. | Yes. Speak 96, publish in 58 — voiceover, captions and guide in each | Partly, or on a higher plan. Translation listed on Enterprise only |
| How you captureWhat you have to install before you can record anything. | Yes. Chrome extension — records the tab you pick | Yes. Chrome extension, plus a desktop app on paid plans |
| Desktop app for non-browser softwareRecording a native app, an installer, or anything outside a browser tab. | No. No — Chrome only. Uploaded footage gets zooms, but no click events to cut on | Yes. Yes — on paid plans |
| AI avatars / talking headsA synthetic presenter on screen alongside the workflow. | No. No | Not listed. Not listed on Scribe's pricing page |
| Interactive click-through demosA clickable HTML replica of your product rather than a video of it. | No. No — the output is a rendered MP4 | Partly, or on a higher plan. Guide Me overlays an in-browser walkthrough on the live app; a click-through replica is not stated |
| The editing rules published in publicWhether you can read what the automatic edit will actually do before you trust it with a recording. | Yes. Yes — every threshold is on the site, and they're the shipping defaults | Not listed. Magic Edit's changes are described in prose; no thresholds are listed |
| Brand kit and branded share pagesYour logo and colours on the video and the page around it. | Partly, or on a higher plan. Yes — on Studio | Partly, or on a higher plan. Custom branding on paid plans |
| Free tierWhether you can use it indefinitely without paying. | Yes. Yes — a 10-day free trial with 5 AI minutes, no card, watermarked exports | Yes. Yes — Basic, free |
| Entry priceWhat the first paid plan costs and what it includes. | Yes. Creator $29/mo — 25 AI video minutes, no watermark, 3 seats | Yes. Pro Team $17 a seat monthly ($13 yearly), five-seat minimum; Pro Personal $35 monthly ($25 yearly) |
- Yes. Yes
- Partly, or on a higher plan. Partly, or on a higher plan
- No. No
- Not listed. Not listed
Checked on 2 October 2026 against Scribe pricing. Products change. Tell us if we've got something wrong and we'll correct it.
What you get
One take. Three things to hand over.
One pass produces the video, the written guide, and the share page.
The edited video
Zooms on your clicks, dead time compressed, mistakes cut, voiceover and word-by-word captions — 1080p.

A written guide
The same steps, numbered, each with a screenshot from your recording. Print, paste, or publish.

A share page
Every render gets a page that plays the video — public, or unlisted for link-only access.

Questions
stepvideo vs Scribe, asked plainly
Does Scribe make videos?
Scribe's pricing page lists screen recording, but doesn't list MP4 video export, AI voiceover or automatic zoom as features, as of 15 August 2026. Its published output is the written, screenshotted guide. We've left those rows as "not listed" rather than as a no.
Do I still get a written guide if I use stepvideo?
Yes — that's the point of the comparison. One recording produces the edited MP4, a numbered written guide with a screenshot per step, and a share page. You aren't trading the doc away to get the video.
Can I use both?
Plenty of teams would be sensible to. Scribe for the long tail of internal text SOPs, stepvideo for the twenty customer-facing walkthroughs that need to be watchable. Nothing about either stops the other working.
